STP Racing History

  • 1969

    The year 1969 brought victory in the Indianapolis 500-mile race by Mario Andretti in an STP Special. Andretti also captured the national Driving Championship that year.

  • 1970

    STP announced its entry into Grand Prix competition. Competing under the STP colors during those early Grand Prix seasons (1970-71) were Ronnie Peterson, Chris Amon, Jo Siffert, Andrea de Adamich, Dieter Quester, Nanni Galloi and Alex Soler-Roig. The STP/March team finished third in the final 1970 championship standing.

  • 1971

    STP became involved in NASCAR stock car racing, sponsoring popular driver Fred Lorenzen. STP was represented again on the Indianapolis circuit, with drivers Andretti and Steve Krisiloff. In Grand Prix racing during 1971, Sweden’s Ronnie Peterson drove an all-new March Formula 1 car to second place in the World Championship.

  • 1972

    The STP racing team dominates the Australian Tasman Series and driver Graham McRae also wins the U.S. Continental Series. Another car is introduced at Indianapolis, an all-new STP Lola. STP takes an important step in NASCAR racing by sponsoring Richard Petty. Ronnie Peterson continues to carry STP colors in international Grand Prix racing, teaming with Austria’s Nike Lauda.

  • 1973

    STP added to its racing successes with Gordon Johncock capturing his first Indy 500 (he won again in 1982) and continued its innovative marketing and promotional activities while augmenting its sales and research staffs. The 1973 racing season was full from NASCAR to drag racing and included the first lady of motor sports, dragster Paula Murphy.

  • 1974

    Richard Petty won a fifth NASCAR championship.

  • 1975

    Back-to-back championships and a sixth National title in 1975 by Petty highlighted another successful racing year, which also included Paula Murphy being named the year’s outstanding woman in racing.

  • 1979

    The 1979 season brought Petty’s sixth Daytona 500 victory and a record seventh driving championship.

  • 1981

    Kyle Petty joins his dad as a member of the STP Team and wins his first race. A week later, Richard comes from far behind to win the Daytona 500 for the 7th time — one of the finest performances ever recorded at the World Center of Racing. Mario Andretti returns to the STP Indy Car lineup with Johncock as his teammate on the Patrick-owned crew.

  • 1982

    Every car (42) starting the Daytona 500 used STP® products.

  • 1984

    Richard Petty won his 200th NASCAR Winston Cup race in 1984.

  • 1986

    Richard Petty made his 1000th start.

  • 1988

    Richard Petty had an amazing 500th consecutive green flag appearance.

  • 1992

    Richard Petty’s final year as the driver of the #43 car; “The King” receives the Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian award, from President Bush.

  • 1995

    Bobby Hamilton is hired to drive the #43 car.

  • 1996

    Bobby Hamilton returns the #43 car to victory lane in Phoenix.

  • 1997

    Bobby Hamilton wins again in Rockingham, NC.

  • 1998

    John Andretti is chosen to drive the #43 car and finishes 11th in NASCAR Winston Cup standings.

  • 2000

    STP is replaced by General Mills as the primary sponsor for the #43 car but continued to be involved with the Petty team.

  • 2005

    Former NASCAR champion Bobby Labonte joins the #43 team.

  • 2006

    STP returns as the primary sponsor for the #43 car for two races (Talladega and Richmond).

  • 2009

    Richard Petty drives pace car as part of 25th anniversary of 200th win at the Daytona 500. STP & Armor All World of Outlaws driver Donny Schatz wins 4th straight Knoxville National championship in STP Indy 500 Tribute car.

  • 2010

    Richard Petty makes history again with his induction into the new NASCAR Hall of Fame on May 23. The inaugural class also includes Bill France Sr., Bill France Jr., Junior Johnson and Dale Earnhardt.

    In November of 2010, Avista Capital Partners purchased the STP brand from the Clorox Company and started the new private company - The Armored AutoGroup.

  • 2011

    STP announces title sponsorship for the STP 300 Nationwide Race at Chicagoland Speedway and the STP 400 Sprint Cup race at Kansas Speedway. STP also announces a multi-year track sponsorship of Infineon Raceway and title sponsorship of Wednesday Night Drags and Bracket Days.

    STP announces NHRA Funny Car sponsorship of 2-time champion Tony Pedregon.

  • 2012

    World of Outlaws:
    STP and World of Outlaws announced that 2013 will mark the start of STP’s title sponsorship of the world of outlaws STP Sprint Car Series.

    Victory Junction:
    STP celebrated its 40th anniversary in racing with Richard Petty by donating
    $43,000 to Victory Junction to help make campers' dreams come true.

  • 2013

    STP partners with Martinsville Speedway to host the Gas Booster 500, won by Jimmie Johnson

  • 2014

    This year marks STP's 60th Anniversary. STP hosts the STO 500 at Martinsville Speedway, won by Kurt Busch

    Aric Almirola earns first career Sprint Cup win at Daytona International Speedway on the anniversary of Richard Petty's 200th NASCAR Cup win

    STP World of Outlaws driver Donny Schatz wins his eighth Knoxville Nationals title in nine years

    Aric Almirola qualifies for NASCAR's “Chase for the Sprint Cup”

Hail to The King

Interview, articles & photos featuring the new Hall of Famer.

More Petty »

Get STP Gear!

Check out the Official STP Store.

Go »